Pawn Boys a Hangout On Air Event Gomboc Produced

HOA Fun Live from Lighting Pawn

Dennis Duce: Welcome to Pawn Boys.

If you would like to have a Hangout On AIr produced for your company call Dennis N. DUce 801-879-0243 or fill out the form below.

Ryan Miner: Welcome! You know, I was watching last weeks, I thought it was a little rough, I sound like a goofball anyway.

Dennis Duce: That’s alright! Fun man!

Ryan Miner: These are gonna get better and better and better, I promise you. We’re gonna do things you wanna hear. Hopefully, you’re gonna make some suggestions, and we can put some stuff on the air that you wanna hear.

Dennis Duce: Yeah!

Ryan Miner: Sportin’ the sunglasses again today?

Dennis Duce: These are the ones I talked about last week.

Ryan Miner: You love those.

Dennis Duce: These are so freaking cool! Don’t come down and buy these, because I wanna buy them. I thought they were blue, but now that they’re out of the case they’re black, that’s weird. Black and cream, cream on the inside, black on the outside with just a hint of the cream showing up.

Ryan Miner: How about these? I’m not usually a pink person, but do they look good on me?

Dennis Duce: I think they’re wild man!

Ryan Miner: Oakley’s! Oakley’s, Raybands.

Dennis Duce: Yup. Real deal.

Ryan Miner: Oh yeah. We don’t do knock-off’s here.

Dennis Duce: How do you tell whether they’re knock-off’s or not?

Ryan Miner: You know, any really good name-brand item put out quality stuff. WHen you go to the cheap Chinese stuff, you can either, the embossing on them is done cheaply, they’re just very cheap. That’s basically how you do it. They’re not gonna put out a bunch of money on something that they’re selling for pennies on the dollar compared to what they are new. So, cheap cheap stuff. We don’t have any of that stuff, we don’t like taking imitation stuff here, real deal.

Dennis Duce: So what are we looking at? Neither of them have price tags on them.

Ryan Miner: Rayband, if you were to go into the mall today, would be in the neighborhood of 150$.

Dennis Duce: You couldn’t get these at the mall, these are vintage.

Ryan Miner: Maybe, you know they do a lot of retro stuff, but I dunno.

Dennis Duce: 150$ for sure?

Ryan Miner: Yeah, new. But not here. You’d pay less than 80$ for something like that.

Dennis Duce: Sick.

Ryan Miner: Same thing on these. Oakley’s, I’ve got Oakley’s Rayband, Rough Lorane stuff, goochi stuff, so, just about any kind of name brand sunglasses you can think of.

Dennis Duce: We’re sitting in Chenele chairs.

Ryan Miner: Chenele chairs. These chairs are actually something that we took in on pawn, and decided that, ‘Hey, when are you gonna see another pair like this’, so we ended up keeping them. Anything is for sale!

Dennis Duce: Nothing but the best for the pawn butts on Pawn Boys.

Ryan Miner: Exactly, Chenele chairs. Designer from A to Z.

Dennis Duce: You got it, good deal. Alright, so, we may not have a guest this week.

Ryan Miner: I tried to get one of my really good friends and he’s also in the pawn business, owns a pawn shop locally here, He was kind of a maybe, his store opens at 9, I told him we started at 9:30, hopefully he shows up, he was kind of tentative. Maybe we can pick his brain, he’s been in the pawn business longer than myself, he’s kinda the one that got me started in the pawn business, helped me get started, he would be very interesting to talk to, so hopefully he shows up.

Dennis Duce: Hopefully

Ryan Miner: Yeah, we’ll see. I told him 9:30, only need 10-15 minutes of his time, so hopefully he comes. Behind us here is an example of one of the things that have come through the doors. this is an 1897 bicycle made by a national bike company. These are wooden wheels, and if you look close, there is something missing on this bike. What do you think it is?

Dennis Duce: Well, I already heard Kirk talking about it last week so I know, but it’s got no chain.

Ryan Miner: It’s got no chain, it is driven by a shaft. It’s something I guess they toyed with around the turn of the century.

Dennis Duce: It’s got suspension.

Ryan Miner: For all those mountain bikers that thought that rear suspension came out in the 90’s, and that was the first time-

Dennis DUce: They were right! The 1890’s! They were off by 100 years

Ryan Miner: Anyways, it’s completely original, down to it’s tires, you can see that the tires have horsehair covered by rubber, so that’s how they did them way back then. But the bike is completely original down to the lock they have. Now, I don’t have a key for that lock, but I thought that is was kind of interesting that it was hanging there. To the grips, to the seat, anyway, this is just kind of an example of what we see sometimes come through the doors. Everyday is an experience. This bike, for now, is not for sale, just because I love bikes myself, and I’m gonna keep it and probably hang it up on the wall. But if you wanna come down and see a piece of AMericana, American History, this is definitely worth while, to come down and see it. I love it, I love it. If you’re a bike enthusiast, if you’re not and you just wanna check out something neat, amongst other things I have, come and check it out. It’s one of the things we thought we’d highlight today, so.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, I’m loving this bike, I really am. This thing is so cool.

Ryan Miner: It’s neat, it’s all original. It’s never been painted over. it’s not been abused, it looks like it sat in someone’s garage for 100 years or more.

Dennis Duce: Yeah.

Ryan Miner: Neat neat neat neat stuff. Anyways, my phone keeps ringing, hopefully the answering machine will get it.

Dennis Duce: Same guy, someone named David. David! David! Brundy David! Stop calling!

Ryan Miner: Please, please! We’ll get it in just a bit!

Dennis Duce: We’ll call you back, or he will.

Ryan Miner: You know, one of the things that I was thinking about over the weekend, that most people, when they ask me what I do, one of the questions they have for me is ‘Do you take mostly stolen items?’ just because that is one of the perceptions that they have as a pawn shop. Either they’d never come into a pawn shop before, and they just think that all the things we have are stolen, which is completely untrue, it does happen. Modern pawn shops, most laws and regulations are such that it doesn’t happen as much anymore. When you come in to pawn, you have to have a valid state ID or driver’s license to be able to do that. We scrutinize what we take in, we don’t discriminate at all, if something seems maybe stolen, it’s certainly something that we wouldn’t be interested in. We don’t take stolen items, although they do show up sometimes, you can’t screen everything out. When we take something in we have to hold it for 15 days, if it’s a sale. If it’s a pawn, we have to hold it for 30 days. That stuff gets uploaded, by law, to a statewide database. So let’s say you have something stolen from your house. You have serial numbers for that item, you file a police report, and if in fact it was stolen, they can look it up. Hopefully the serial numbers are put in right. If you know maybe the name of someone who may have stolen it they can look it up as well. We do get everybody’s fingerprints here, we’re not to the point of taking blood yet, but maybe that’s coming soon… just kidding.

Dennis Duce: Come on down, get your blood taken! At the pawn shop.

Ryan Miner: The truth is-

*PHONE RINGS*

Dennis Duce: DAVID!

Ryan Miner: Is that really? Man, it is, he is relentless!

Dennis Duce: We got a customer coming in here too.

Ryan Miner: We probably do. Oh, it’s the mailman. Thanks buddy, you can just set it right there. Thank you man. Anyway, we do have stuff shown up every once in awhile that end up being stolen. I would probably say 3 or 4 items a year get put on police hold for them to do further investigation for it. Other than that, not really, out of the thousands of item’s we take.

Dennis Duce: Time out for a second, we’ve got a customer coming in here.

Customer: I want to keep up, but I would like to get some cash for it, if I can.

Ryan Miner: These kind of off-brand tablets are really difficult for me to take. You buy them from the store and they devalue almost half when you walk through the door. Everybody is making these now. You can go into the door and buy these for 75 bucks new or used, they’re just tough for me to take. Just stuff I probably wouldn’t be interested in right now. Do you have anything else?

Customer: No, I don’t

Ryan Miner: Sorry man. I appreciate you bringing it in.

Customer: Alright, bye.

Dennis Duce; You probably need to create a notice on the door. We’re not supposed to be open currently, but the door’s  unlocked.

Ryan Miner: Yeah, we need to lock the door. Anyway, I really try to help people when they come in , even if I’m really not interested in what they have. I asked him if they have anything else, a lot of times people do. My desire is to try to help everybody. Of course I’m in business to make a living, but honestly I really try to help the people that come through the door, I really do. That is the honest truth.

Dennis Duce: In preparation for production of this show, I’ve probably spent  *AUDIO CUTS OUT* at the respect. Some of the people that came in, I wouldn’t have given them the time of day, and you treated them the same whether they were well dressed, like that woman who bought the nintendo from you, or whether they were, you know, well, questionable. You treated them all the same, and it was really cool to watch.

Ryan Miner: I deal with all sorts of types of people, anywhere from a guy that drives up in a 100,000$ 700 series BMW-

Dennis Duce: That he wants to pawn?

Ryan Miner: Hopefully, someday, or a high end watch, to somebody that doesn’t look  like they have two nickels to rub together. But I really really try. I know how I’d like to be treated, I’ve been in dealing with the public, customer service, ran-in jobs, almost since the first job I had. I really understand customer service here. We treat everybody the same, everybody with the utmost respect, you can count on being treated well here at Lightning Pawn. A lot of times people go into pawn shops and they get looked down on, which I don’t think is right. That’s not something you’re gonna see here at Lightning Pawn for sure.

Dennis Duce: I haven’t seen it, watching you, you’ve been the most respectful guy, and I’m impressed.

Ryan Miner: I try, thank you, I appreciate, Anyway, what I was saying about stolen items, they do come in, but it doesn’t happen very often. You can count on anything that you buy here has been through what we call some sort of screening process, it’s been uploaded to the database, so you can be rest assure that anything that you buy here is legitimate. That’s pretty much the way it is with any pawn shop. We’re regulated to the point where it just doesn’t happen as much as it used to.

Dennis Duce: Let me ask you this, have you ever had anything that didn’t get picked up through that process, got out on the floor, got old out, and you had to deal with some repercussions. You’ve been in the business 12 years, has that ever happened? So something that was stolen didn’t get caught, and someone’s purchased it, and they now have it out there, because for some people out there looking to buy, that’s a concern.

Ryan Miner: They want to make sure that the item they purchased was legitimate. I’ve been in the pawn business for 12 years, and if I thought real hard, once or twice maybe, I can’t think of any time that’s come up since I’ve owned my own pawn shop for the past 5 years. When I worked for someone else, once, twice maybe.

Dennis Duce: Three times a lady?

Ryan Miner: There you go. I knew that was coming. It just doesn’t happen very often, so you can rest assure that what you’re buying is legitimate. I can say pretty much across the board, anywhere you go, that’s probably gonna be the case. The pawn business is not what it used to be as far as that goes. It’s not shady, we’re above board, it’s legitimate

Dennis Duce: It’s legit.

Ryan Miner: Absolutely. That’s one thing I was thinking about over the weekend, people ask me about that all the time. We’re good, clean, and fun down here at Lightning. For sure.

Dennis Duce: Really fun.

Ryan Miner: Absolutely.

Dennis Duce: Speaking of fun, I’m a skateboarder, you have, this week, brought in a number of really cool long boards.

Ryan Miner: Those long boards, if you are purchasing it new from a sporting goods store, or whatever it may be, these are all name brand stuff.

Dennis Duce: Look how long this one is.

Ryan Miner: That’s a sector 9, the other one was a glub. Sector 9 is arguably the most popular brand of longboard

Dennis Duce: Yes, definitely as far as the wheels are concerned, they are IT.

Ryan Miner: You would be upwards of 150$ for something like that new, down here at Lightning Pawn, 75, 80, on something that’s in brand new condition, not more than 100 dollars.  Right Now I’ve got probably four long boards. Winter time is a great time to come in a buy these things because I have a lot more of them, people aren’t riding them as much. It’s just like buying a lawn mower in the winter or a snow blower in the summer. If you want good prices and great selections, you come in the opposite season.

Dennis Duce: There you go.

Ryan Miner: So, we’ve got 4 of them right now.

Dennis Duce: So, if any of you, like me, went and saw the Secret Life of Walter Mitty this weekend-

Ryan Miner: Did you see that?

Dennis Duce: I did. Great movie.

Ryan Miner: Was it good?

Dennis Duce: It was really good, really really good movie. But, if it gave you an urge to go longboarding down some road in Iceland-

Ryan Miner: Do you actually ride those things?

Dennis Duce: I actually ride a retro short deck. Next week I’ll bring it in, it’s actually in my car right now. I keep it in my car all the time. I’m a park carver, so I can’t even do a kickflip or anything, but I have wanted to give longboarding a try, and of course, watching Walter Mitty cruise down that hill with rocks on his hands, it was pretty exciting.

Ryan Miner: Kids, always wear a helmet, please.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, he doesn’t. He didn’t have a helmet. And don’t jump into the North Atlantic Ocean out of a helicopter.

Ryan Miner: Ooo, I wanna go see that.

Dennis Duce: You gotta go see it, it’s great.

Ryan Miner: I did, a few weeks back, buy this tacure watch. On this side of town, I’m one of the few people that will look at and buy high end watches, just because I know what I’m looking at. And that comes with a very expensive education, by the way. I’ve made a lot of mistake.

Dennis Duce: How do you learn to tell the difference?

Ryan Miner: When you lose thousands of dollars, you get educated real quick, more specifically. Again, what I was telling you about the glasses, high end companies, whether they’re watch companies, sunglass companies, car companies, or whatever they may be, when you’re paying thousands of dollars for a watch or a car, everything is perfect. Down to the lettering on the logos to how they paint the numbers on the buzzle, how the black paint is put into there. A cheap knock-off, when you look closely at it, there’s going to be mistakes if you look hard enough, there’s going to to be flaws, so to speak. From Rolex’s to tags to omegas to brightly’s or whatever High end watch you can shake a stick at, I’ve seen come through here, and most of them I’ve purchased. This one came in last week. Beautiful watch, that is a Tacure Formula one black-faced watch, all stainless steel, Came in last week, and in talking to the customer that sold it to me, I was surprised to find out that he had been offered 50$ for the watch on 2 different occasions. Now this particular watch, brand new, is about 1400$. It had never been worn. This guy got it for a company gift, and he didn’t have any use for the watch, he said he would rather have the money for Christmas, to buy gifts, which makes sense. On a couple of different occasions, he was offered 50$. Now I don’t know if that was because the people didn’t know what they were looking at, or they were tyring to low-blow him, I told him right away I would igve him a lot more than that. I told him I would give him 300$, and he was okay with that. Anyways, if you have a high end watch, and you wanna know about it, if you want me to look at it and tell you if it’s real, if you wanna sell it to me, if you wanna get a loan on it, I do high end watches here. I know a lot about them, and I’ve seen a few of them , and we do deal with those down here. I’m kind of a watch snob myself, so high end to me is 1000 or above. It doesn’t really start to turn my head until about 2 or 3 thousand or above, I’m a little bit of a watch snob that way. So, bring me the nice watches, I can look at it for you if you just wanna know about it. I can let you know what it’s worth, or give you a mouth appraisel on them , that’s kind of one of my forte’s down here. Whereas a lot of people don’t.

Dennis Duce: High end watches, bring them to Lightning Pawn.

Ryan Miner: Absolutely. I do have other watches that I deal with here. Mostly trendy watches mixed in, rockwall, diesel, I like the trendy stuff too that don’t end up selling for much, but is popular.

Dennis Duce: Now, am I seeing 2 swatches there?

Ryan Miner: Those are vintage swatches.

Dennis Duce: Vintage 80’s swatches?

Ryan Miner: Vintage 80’s swatches.

Dennis Duce: What are those going for?

Ryan Miner: To a collector, I think new, since they have little rubies in the dial, those might have sold for 2 to 3 hundred dollars. To the right guy who collects those kinds of things, maybe 100, 150? They still have their boxes with them, at least one of them does. So, those are kind of especially collective ones. I don’t think anybody’s gonna come in and spend 150 dollars on a plastic, 20 to 30 year old watch. So, it would have to go the right guy, but there are guys collecting those things. THere aren’t very many of them left out there.

Dennis Duce: No, there aren’t. I broke my swatch

Ryan Miner: Did you wear a swatch back in the 80’s?

Dennis Duce: I wore a swatch in the 80’s, it was blue, and it had 2 twisted swatch guards. You know how cool I was? With two polo shirts, both collars turned up, I was like… so much.

Ryan Miner: You probably would have looked down on guys like me. I was a little nerdy, a little awkward. High school was a blur to me.

Dennis Duce: Oh, I was nerdy too because I grew up in a small town in Canada, so, guys like you would have looked down on guys like me. I was this kinda weird juxtaposition.

Ryan Miner: I never had a swatch watch man, I was never fortunate enough to have a swatch watch. I had a cheap imitation, but I didn’t have a real one, so.

Dennis Duce: And now you’re wearing an Omega.

Ryan Miner: And now I’m wearing an Omega! So, I told you all ,watch stop man I love watches!

Dennis Duce: I think it’s all because you were dissuped(?) as a kid.

Ryan Miner: Making up for lost time.

*LAUGHING*

Dennis Duce: That caught me off guard, that was good. Alright, so, last week you talked about tools.

Ryan Miner: You have a interesting hammer there.

Dennis Duce: Yes, It’s very interesting.

Ryan Miner: It’s a rubber/metal mallet. That is probably more commonly used in flooring, that one right there. That is an item that you might hit a flooring machine with.

Dennis Duce: Like hardwood flooring?

Ryan Miner: Yeah, yeah.

Dennis Duce: Or maybe carpet stretcher?

Ryan Miner: Well, carpet stretchers didn’t have their own mechanism for doing anything, but you could use that for just about anything. That one is specifically used for that type of purpose. Tools are probably one of the most we take down here. I see tools come through the door all day every day.

Dennis Duce: Framing gun!

Ryan Miner: That is a pass load angle framing nailer. It’s gonna take a 16 penny nail, and I have those in just about any brand name you can think of from Hitachi to pass load to bostitch, all the name brand stuff. I don’t like to take harbor freight stuff down here. Harbor Freight is a weekend warrior cheap tool store that sells cheap stuff. I generally don’t like those, I like to take name brand stuff because I see so many tools.

Dennis Duce: Although, I bought a really good anvil from them.

Ryan Miner: They’re fine for that type of stuff.

Dennis Duce: I mean what’s gonna break on an anvil?

Ryan Miner: I buy my shop rags from them. I’m not knocking Harbor Freight, they are a great store for what they are, but they’re tools, and I’m sure they would admit it too, but their tools are not for industrial use. Anyway, I’m a little more picky in the stuff I take down here.

Dennis Duce: A tool snob.

Ryan Miner: Yeah, tool snob, sure. You can name me that. I’m a tool snob. Name brand, good condition, newer model tools. I’ve taken them, they’re great stuff, I’ve got nail guns, drills, Nikita Dowell.

Dennis Duce; Oh if you had a Paslo drill that would be cool.

Ryan Miner: They actually do make drills.

Dennis Duce: Well it would have to be numatic though, I think.

Ryan Miner: Probably , yeah, they’re probably gonna be in a numatic situation. Anyway, any kind of tool you can imagine, I do take here. Don’t go buy it new, gimme a chance first and see if I’ve got it, come down, see if we can get you set up, if I don’t have it, go to Harbor Freight, go to Lowe’s, or wherever you wanna go. See if I have it first. Give me a chance!

Dennis DUce: You’ve got this heater thing here, I’m not even gonna try to pick that up and show it off.

Ryan Miner: You know, during the cold months, those big torpedo heaters sell like hotcakes.

Dennis Duce: I wonder if it shows up in this other screen, probably not though.

Ryan Miner: Nah, I don’t think it’s showing up, nope. Shows my guns back there.

Dennis Duce:  Yeah! You’ve got a lot of guns.

Ryan Miner: Absolutely.

Dennis Duce: Pistols right down here.

Ryan Miner: ABsolutely, so, if you’re looking for a gun, give me a call., I have compound bows, as I probably stated last week, musical instruments, I’ve got all sorts of guitars and amps, we could go on and on about the stuff that I have. We could probably make a show that lasts all week, but we won’t bore you with that.

Dennis Duce: We’ll just keep highlighting you all week. So, I wanna do Pawn Tales.

Ryan Miner: Okay

Dennis Duce: So, tell us some really bizzarro story from your pawn life.

Ryan Miner: You know, I was thinking about some stories that I could tell this morning, and I’m sure if I really really dug deep- I gotta start writing these things down, they’re kinda like dreams, you know if you don’t write your dreams down then you kinda forget about them?

Dennis Duce: Just have your own Pawn Tales journal?

Ryan Miner: Then you kinda have to regurgitate them at the appropriate time. This was awhile ago, I had this lady come in. She actually pawned with us all the time, she was a frequent customer.

Dennis Duce: Does that make her a frequent pawner?

Ryan Miner: She was a frequent pawner. I could make a frequent pawn card. I don’t know what that would do, but I should make one of those.You punch, you know like a Chuck-a-rama card?

Dennis Duce: What do they get?

Ryan Miner: At the end of it? I don’t know, I’d have to come up with something.

Dennis Duce: Great new idea. Tell us what you want on your frequent pawn card!

Ryan Miner: I’ve often thought I’d make a VIP gold card. I don’t know how that would work, it justs sounds good, I tell my good customers ‘If I had a gold card, you would be the first to have one.’ But I don’t know what that would entail. But we’ll think of something. Anyway, she’d come in all the time, and I couldn’t take any of the things she had. She had just junk. As I was talking about earlier, I really try hard to accommodate people, even if they don’t have things that I’m looking for. Anyway, she was rummaging through her purse and pulling things out as fast as she could get them and putting them in front of me, and finally, she pulls something out and says ‘This is my last resort.’ And she pulls out a pencil.

Dennis Duce: Mechanical?

Ryan Miner: No, it was a #2 pencil just like you would use to fill in the bubbles at school, like on a test.

Dennis Duce: I’m old enough to know that reference.

Ryan Miner: They don’t do that anymore, I’m sure.

Dennis Duce: No, I don’t think so.

Ryan Miner: #2 Pencil. To her it wasn’t just a #2 pencil. It hadn’t been sharpened yet, so it had just the blunt end on it, right?

Dennis Duce: What condition?

Ryan Miner: Oh it was in brand new condition. Just like I like to take things, I like to take new stuff. She began to tell me a story about this pencil. ‘This pencil means a lot to me’ she tells me. I think she had gotten it from one of her kids, I guess they were all grown up and out of the house, it came from on of them at school and it was a very special pencil, and she told me there was no way I would lose this pencil. I was so taken back by this I said ‘I’ll give you 20 bucks for the pencil.’ Now don’t think that you can come down and bring a pencil and get 20 bucks f0or it because I probably won’t do that again. Here I though, now I own this #2 pencil, I paid 20 bucks for this thing, and I’m never gonna see this lady again on this thing. And to my surprise, she comes traipsing through the door 2 weeks later to redeem the pencil. I was flabberghasted, I never thought I’d see her again on this thing, because what’s a pencil like that cost? 5 cents? 10 cents? Something like that.

Dennis Duce: A stick of gum.

Ryan Miner: She redeemed this pencil!

Dennis Duce; What percentage of people actually redeem?

Ryan Miner: I would say a good average is probably gonna be 45%-50%. So the odds weren’t in my favor on that one man, I thought I’d own this pencil. Anyway, long story short, she became a really good customer. She was already a good customer at the time, but I trusted her with stuff that I normally wouldn’t trust people with bringing in. I took stuff from her, and she always came back and redeemed them. I don’t know what ever happened to her, it was when I worked in another store. I guess we kinda just lost track of each other, and I haven’t seen her since. I do have customers that I consider more reliable at coming back and getting things, and I might give them a little more for their item, or take an item that I might not take from somebody that I didn’t know. I do that, and I think probably most pawn shops do, but I don’t think I’ll take a #2 pencil again.

Dennis Duce: So I’ve got a suggestion for your frequent pawners card.

Ryan Miner: What’s that?

Dennis Duce: You have, and I can see right here from where I’m sitting, oh I dunno, about 50 of these?

Ryan Miner: No, there’s more.

Dennis Duce: So, I saw these today, there’s a story behind these, this thing is really cool.

Ryan Miner: One of the great items we have here at lightning pawn.

Dennis Duce: You put gumballs in here, and they show up in here, and then you spin this, and then they come out down there.

Ryan Miner: Oh, but it’s a picture too. It hangs up on the wall.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, so you can hang your gumball machine on the wall. Everybody needs one of these.

Ryan Miner: If you get to 10 punches, you may receive, a gumball framed hanging picture. I do have some with gumballs in them,, now, I don’t know how old they are.

Dennis Duce: While supplies last.

Ryan Miner: Yes.

Dennis Duce: Then we’ll come up with something else.

Ryan Miner: In an assortment of colors!

Dennis Duce: You do. I can see red, and blue, yellow…

Ryan Miner: I think those are the primary colors.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, I’m thinking. OH! Is that black? There’s a black one over there. They have black too. Oh! I see a green one over there.

Ryan Miner: We have lots of them.

Dennis Duce: So tell the story, how did you end up with all these patent pending made in Korea delights?

Ryan Miner: Down here, as we have said several times during the show, we really try to accommodate everybody. We did this person with no exception. We took probably 80 of these things? That maybe we shouldn’t have taken?

Dennis Duce: How many have you sold?

Ryan Miner: *HOLDS UP ZERO*

Dennis Duce: How long have you had them?

Ryan Miner: About a month. People think they’re cool! They look at them. They pick them up and are all what are these? How much are these? I’ve even told people 5 dollars a piece, and it wasn’t good enough for them to take it,. You know, if you’re doing your kids bedroom with that thing? Like a circus, fair, carnival? They are fun! There is nothing else as fun. You know, I’m almost to the point where I would probably give you one if you came down. So come on down and I’ll give you a gumball picture.

Dennis Duce: But you gotta say that you saw it on Pawn Boys.

Ryan Miner: Yeah! Tell me you saw it on Pawn Boys and I’ll give you one of these. I’ve got plenty. While supplies last, but I’ve got plenty. So, if the camera could pan down…

Dennis Duce: That’s kinda tough to do, they’re all computer cameras today. So…

Ryan Miner: By the way, the cameras that are taking these pictures are computers that come from the pawn shop, right?

Dennis Duce: Yes, that’s true! These are pawned computers.

Ryan Miner; Yes, Absolutely.

Dennis Duce: The mic this week is not pawned, last weeks mic was pawned. If we have had two of them, I would still be using them this week. But the problem was that mic had a small sound area so you couldn’t hear the other person very well.

Ryan Miner: This is nice,.

Dennis Duce: It looks like it’s doing a better job.

Ryan Miner: Yeah, I think so.

Dennis Dce; We’ll find out when we replay.

Ryan Miner: That’s about all I have. I think this show went better this week, I really do.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, though Kirk was pretty entertaining. His dry sense of humor is pretty funny.

Ryan Miner: That’s why I wanted Bill to come, he’s a funny guy. He is just as dry or drier than Kirk is. We’ll get him on this show, I promise we’ll get him on this show. I’m gonna coax him out, hopefully for next week.

Dennis Duce: Good deal. And we’ll work on getting some other guests on, some local business, maybe a local politician from midvale, you know that could be interesting.

Ryan Miner: Yeah. Would we have to be more serious?

Dennis Duce: We better not have to be more serious.

Ryan Miner: Okay alright. Not that we’re a ball of laughs right now.

Dennis Duce: No, but we had fun.

Ryan Miner: Yeah, it’s fun! I don’t know if it is for you, but we’re having fun. ANyway, I don’t have anything else.

Dennis Duce: I think that’s it for this week Thank you so much for watching Pawn Boys.

Ryan Miner: Thank you, I appreciate it. More polished every week. These shows are unscripted.

Dennis Duce: Completely.

Ryan Miner: These shows are unscripted. We just kinda come up with stuff, as you can probably tell, from nowhere.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, off the cuff. The main idea here is to give you a chance to get to know Ryan, and we figure if we script this up you’re not gonna get to know him, you’re gonna get to know some script.

Ryan Miner: No teleprompters here.

Dennis Duce: No teleprompters whatsoever, we’re just shooting from the hip and that way you get to know Ryan.

Ryan Miner: Come down and visit me. You can come down and talk to me too.

Dennis Duce: Yeah, hang out, watch people come and go. It’s actually really fun. I literally look forward to Monday mornings now.

Ryan Miner: I do too. I was a little, I didn’t know what I was gonna do last week, but you know, this morning, I was like ‘We’re gonna have a fun time.’

Dennis Duce: Yeah, so we’re gonna end this weeks broadcast and immediately step into making our promo video, new feature on google hangouts. It’s been rollin’ for about a month, but I got the update this week, so, we’re gonna make our promo video so you can see what next week’s video is about.

Ryan Miner: Thanks for coming! We’ll see you next week.

Dennis Duce: Thanks!

Ryan Miner: Love you! Bye.

Leave a comment

Filed under GomBoc Produced HOA's, Hangouts On Air, Lightning Pawn, Pawn Boys

Leave a Reply

